I may have found "The One"

So I have been browsing for vans the past few weeks and I have found one that seems to meet all the criteria. It is a 1988 Ford E-150. Under $3,000, only has 52k miles, minimal rust, and with a lil TLC I have a feeling this could be it. I am new to this and just want an experienced opinion on this type of van. If interested I can send you a link of the van I am looking at.

Can not wait to hear from you, cheers!

2 Likes

Greetings!

Pre-computerized vans are the best, great choice!

Cheers!

"I can live like a king because I work like a dog." ~ An anonymous vandweller

1 Like

May I ask what determines if a van is “pre-computerized”?

1 Like

Greetings!

An MIL (malfunction indicator lamp), or CEL (check engine light), is a tell-tale sign that a computerized engine-management system is in use. If it’s new enough to have one, it’s too new. Depending on the make, they started showing up in the 80’s, and by the early 90’s they all had them. GM kind of started the baloney, to increase the needed maintenance on their vehicles, and thus boost their profits. The added profits were so successful that Ford and Dodge followed suit.

Lawsuits were filed against the automakers for this unnecessary added garbage, worse performance, and added pollution, so they had laws passed to require it, so they could beat the lawsuits. Then they made them even more complex to counter the lower performance and added pollution, all while hurting fuel economy, but remaining cheaper than building quality vehicles. Since the 80’s, their goal has never been to improve their vehicles, it has only been to improve their profits.