Worried about condensation around electrics

Hi all,

I’m just beginning to think about insulating my van. I have a couple of awkward gaps where I will need to use a wool based insulation as I wont be able to get celetex in the gaps. I’m worried about possible condensation build up and then the insulation absorbing this water as the existing van electrics will be in the wool.

Any tips?

1 Like

I still have not decided about insulation myself, but I think I’ll strip the existing electrics out and put it back in the appropriate place in a special protective tube (I don’t know the expression in English).

Greetings & Welcome!

There are only 2 proper ways to insulate a vehicle. Either all metal needs to be ventilated so that no moisture can get trapped, or your insulation needs to be the wicking type, so that it will wick the moisture to the interior where it can then be evaporated out.

99.9% of the garbage you see online will trap moisture which will lead to rust and mold.

Factory vehicles use the wicking scheme for the floors with carpets, and the venting scheme for the inside of all body panels, plus a third method of adding drain holes all along the bottom of the body and doors to drain away any extra moisture. These drain holes, often referred to as weep holes, need to be kept clear and functioning at all times.

Secondarily, insulate for sound, not temperature. Insulating for temperature control in a vehicle is a waste of time and money. Under the best of conditions it might gain you a whole 15-20 minutes of comfort, and in many conditions it is totally counterproductive. Only proper heating and cooling equipment is going to keep you truly comfortable.