**Windy City Newbie"

Introduce Yourself…

Getting started on new adventures and life experiences. As a fan of tiny homes, and lover of travel, Vanlife is an easy transition/goal. I’ve been dreaming about it for a long time and the universe decided I’d suffered enough, so the stars aligned… I just had to be brave enough to take a leap and grab them! :palm_up_hand: :sparkles:

Watching the summit videos now, adding to my journal of ideas and information… I’m on the hunt for my future home :minibus:. I’m excited to take on the build and have enough experience to know I’m studying to try and not screw things up. I’ll vlog/blog/memorialize my process and journey (_also a new experience for me) and probably regret telling everyone what I’m doing…

I’m a single female with a needy cat…Bitters (see photo). Any suggestions on harness training or recommendations to house an indoor cat in a van are appreciated. He definitely gets a “potty” in the build… Not so sure I get one. :wink:

Greetings!

I would add cheap, old, move in ready motorhomes to your options list. Many choices available for under $5,000 and they can be MUCH more comfortable than DIY stuff.

The money saved can buy a lot of travel & adventures!

Cheers!

"Day Labor = Work Today, Get Paid Today. Win/Win" ~ Nomad-Norm

Hi Van Dweller!
Thanks for the reply. I’ve considered an RV, but part of my “journey” is to convert the vehicle myself - I have construction experience and I want the satisfaction of doing my own build, so… I am okay with the “discomfort”. :wink:

One of my main goals is to keep the build stealthy - I will be solo and will want to stop in cities overnight and RVs don’t provide that same reassurance. I also know “work” trucks are prone to break-ins… (there is an inherent risk to Van life in general).