Van solar panels tax benefits (for US)

I’m pretty new to solar systems and just installed 3 Renogy 100-watt panels on the roof of my Mercedes Sprinter 2020. So far; despite it being winter I’m pretty happy about the performance.

I’ve been reading about the US federal solar
tax credit and was wondering whether a van conversion also would qualify for this?

Has anyone ever looked into this? I think the solar panels have to be installed and used for your residence, but a van in my driveway is kind of like part of a residence?

When I’m not using my van to travel it’s sitting in the driveway of my home. Since I have an electric car I’m able to empty the battery into my car whenever the batteries are 100% charged, so I’m not wasting any free electricity. So even though the van isn’t really my residence, I do use the power for powering things that normally my house would have powered.

Greetings!

I don’t know about tax credits, but I always have to laugh when people call solar power “free electricity” when in fact it is the most expensive electricity available. It fails more people than it helps, and the ongoing costs are never ending. Ditching solar in favor of an isolator, cheap batteries, and a generator for a backup has been saving me about $1500 a year that the solar was costing me in batteries, controllers, etc. etc.

Cheers!

"It is always cheaper and easier to conserve power than it is to make it." ~ Road Warrior

We have solar on our home and it’s been trouble-free. The panels should last 40 or more years, and the break-even point is about 8 years (fewer years if electricity rates go up). Simple arithmetic shows that we’ll get 32 or more years of free electricity. We paid cash for the solar installation, and the only thing we pay the power company is a “meter fee” of about $8 a month.

As far as a tax credit, you should consult with a tax person.

Greetings!