USA Van Suber Newb

Hey there Project Van Life community! My name is Chelsea, I live in Washington state. I am quite new to even researching van life. I’m just now getting more into the detailed research of owning and living in a van or potentially a Class B RV.
Currently I work for a Naval Shipyard where I make decent money to fund my future home. But I plan to quit in no less than a year. My goals are to work my independent business out of my van while moving and living in places where family and friends are located. Staying a couple months to a couple years at each, whichever feels right. Eventually I’ll start branching out and picking random places where I don’t know anybody!
I’m excited to start this new chapter of my life and am looking forward to the knowledge I will gain from this community!

Greetings & Welcome!

Okay, first things first… Do you already have this business up and running? If so, is it making enough to support your future life? Lack of money is one of the major reasons people fail at becoming full timers. Is your business recession proof and future proof? You want your business up and running, making good money, and all the kinks worked out BEFORE you quit your current job.

Vehicles are easier. Every shape, sort, and size are available. With rare exception, building your own is NOT a good idea. Building your own will usually cost more than buying a completed one. The possible exception to this is if you plan on spending a lot of time in below freezing areas, because plumbing and below freezing temperatures don’t play well together unless you have full hookups, and can still be problematic even if you do. Spending time in extreme temperatures, I build my van with no plumbing to avoid any freezing problems. I still have everything, toilet, shower, double sinks, etc; just no plumbing. Most full timers follow the good weather, so they’re rarely anywhere freezing.