Southbound Jackalope

Just posting a little introduction, nothing spectacular to see here. I’m the Southbound Jackalope! I’m based in the Southeast, USA. I have been traveling the east coast- midwest for the last 5 years with work and am finally trying to switch it up and do something else.

I am currently looking into obtaining a Promaster 159 (Preferably EXT) to convert myself. If anyone has any tips to get a brother going, let me know… Otherwise I will be researching as I was before! If anyone has any good websites to look for a used van, please let me know! That is my main priority at the moment.

Thanks for reading, and thanks to everyone who contributes here, I have found a lot of helpful info that will save me a lot of time and trouble!

2 Likes

Greetings & Welcome!

For starters, don’t believe much of what you hear, see, or read. Cargo vans make terrible campers, they are not stealthy at all, they cost a fortune to convert, they’re uncomfortable, and living in a windowless box is worse than a jail cell. The only reason they get promoted is because the promoters are after your money, and if you make better choices, they won’t get it.

Factory camper vans and motorhomes and motorhomes can be found cheap, especially older ones, and even ones from the 70’s and 80’s can be found with extremely low miles and in near showroom condition. I have had many that I paid under $2500 for. They were totally reliable, totally livable, and move in ready without any added expenses.