Solar installation on van in combination with alternator

Hello folks.
I am setting up some solar panels on my van, an old Volkswagen T3 born in 1985. The set up itself will work out quite well i suppose, i have some experience with solar installations set ups.
I bought some 4 50watt panels , a charge controller and the rest is already existing in my van: an inverter and a battery. Those 2 last are connected so far on the alternator. Now my question is coming: how to connect the solar together with the alternator, is it unsafe for the installation(s) to just put the alternator and the solar parallel on the battery? Some ideas came up already, putting some diodes in between or a switch in between to choose the source. I am not sure if they are the right ones, maybe there are better plans? Maybe someone has an electric diagram how to connect this or a helpful link…? I would be grateful if someone has some helpful remarks on this , thanks so much :wink:grtz FRas

Hey FRas!

Kaden here at Continuous Resources. In our designs, we use the Orion DC/DC Charger made by Victron Energy. We’ve been really pleased with it’s performance. This reason why we use this is because it is fully programmable. Depending on the size of your battery bank, you can program the Orion to charge your battery bank at the correct current and voltage for it’s required charging phases.

The orion has a 30A current output, but all of our data shows that it runs a bit hot, around 55A. The max surge power is 60A. We break the wire with 80A breakers on both sides as well.

Let me know if you have any other questions!

I’m sorry but i don’t understand what your answer has to do with my question… @kadenatCR

@FRas