Oh, heyyyy! from Mexico

My name is Karyssa. My husband and I have been doing vanlife with our two dogs since June 2020. Originally we planned to move to Jordan الاردن, where I was going to teach English. But then Covid happened.

So, now we’re bumming around the continent. We didn’t think the pandemic was going to last longer than August, so we thought we’d travel around the States a bit until Canada’s border opened. HA!

Now we’re in México, heading south. Ultimately aiming for Patagonia. It’s a bit alienating because we don’t know the language very well and people stare at us a lot, especially my husband who is from Ireland and thus very white. :sweat_smile:

Traveling during Covid has a lot of moral implications that I’ve come to terms with, but Nick is still struggling with. Lots of places here are closed, which is a bummer though understandable… sometimes.

If you need any recommendations on places to visit though, let me know! I love sharing experiences even if I can’t be there to experience it with you.

Karyssa, So I guess I’m the first to welcome you. So… Welcome!

I’m a newb also and I’ve got to say that one can find a lot of experience around here.

Speaking of experience, It has been some time since I’ve traveled in Mexico; but, I would always stress safety. Where do you park?

Would you mind expanding upon the moral implications of traveling at this time? I ain’t tryin’ to be sassy, just tryin’ to understand.

Good luck.

Right now we’re parked in a parking lot. But sometimes it’s the side of a street, next to a lake, on the beach, in the woods somewhere. Though… last time we parked in the woods we got kicked out. To be fair, it was inside a National Park. :confused: