Newbie in OKC - Need help/advice - Looking to pay someone to install solar on my 88 Chevy Horizon

hey y’all, I’m Jack. I’m a filmmaker, golf bum and recent van owner currently living in Oklahoma City. I quit my job at Barstool Sports in July and bought a 1988 Chevy G20 camper van. My plan and ultimate goal is to travel the country playing as much golf for as cheap as possible while documenting the journey. I’ve already started the vlog, but the road trip has unfortunately been put on hold.

I’ve been bringing my van into my mechanic so she runs smoothly. But I’ve run into a hurdle I would really appreciate some help with. I want to add 300W of solar to the top of my van so I can charge some electronics while I’m on the road. Right now the van is set up for shore power. I’m looking for someone that can convert it from shore power, to also be able to run off of the solar.

Unfortunately the solar expert I had found recently broke his arm rock climbing and had to cancel. I can’t seem to find anyone local, or semi local, or really anyone in the US that can/will do this (I am fully willing to drive anywhere in the country to get this done.) I’ve been searching the internet with no luck, however this is the first forum I’ve joined in the hopes that y’all can point me in the right direction. I know that I can figure out all the electric etc and do it myself, but at this point since I have zero electrical experience and want to get on the road asap, I really would like to pay someone to do it right. I’m not sure who/what I should be looking for. Solar experts (almost everyone I’ve found is Sprinter Van only) or a local electrician or what?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you all,
Jack

Greetings & Welcome!

I totally eliminated any need for solar by simply using a cheap isolator. Any battery or stereo shop should be able to install one cheaply. The people with those high powered stereos usually have an additional battery with an isolator.