Newbie here just posting

Introduce Yourself…

I’m from southwest Pa and I’m 70. Picked up a 1999 Ford E350 shuttle bus to haul my gold wing trike and to sorta live in while traveling. It needs a ton of metal work under the floor. Frame is good but side Chanel’s and side down tubes for the walls are some what rotted out. But I was a metal fabricator and welding for 30 years. I have all the metal and a welder so I got that covered. The plywood floor is 2/3 pulled out so only have 1/3 to go. The side, back Chanel’s replacement then floor and then down tubes. Then cut out the back and build a drop down ramp to load the bike. All in in total cost will be about 5 grand to get it on the road. That includes the cost of the bus it’s self.?

1 Like

I have a similar interest, 71 NY and like to exchange van build ideas.
Nice vehicle for the build out/Goldwing transport. Sounds like you are creating a combo mini toy hauler and camper RV. Decades of welding experience is a tremendous asset. That doesn’t appear to be a trade that artificial intelligence is going to eliminate anytime soon.
Like to know what other living necessities and comforts you are installing in the vehicle.
I have a Chevy express 3500 extended passenger van. My biggest challenge is I must have a way to take a short shower in the van which is what I am currently working on. In the process of installing a 40x24 utility sink/tub, under carriage 11 gal gray water tank, IsoTemp slim-15 glycol water heater and associated pump, faucets and fresh water tank below the tub. Prefer not to use public facilities.
Have a rough in placement for the battery system, refrigerator, cabin heater and air conditioner, propane cook top (all which can change as I get into this).
Hope to continue the dialogue.