Newbie Electrical?

Introduce Yourself… I’m a newbie and want input on the Pros and Cons of using a plug and play power system such as Bluetti, Jackery, Goal Zero, Etc. consisting of Solar Panels, Power Station, Etc.

1 Like

Pros: easy to set up
Cons: expensive and small capacity compared to fixed system

I would put Jackery or similar into a temporary build, something that needs just to charge laptop and phones, maybe couple led lights at night. The charge it at home or office during the day.

If you can afford to have both, a power station can be used first during the build phase before fixed system is installed and then either keep it as a backup or sell it.

Greetings & Welcome!

I think you’re getting the cart before the horse here… We need to start with your power needs, now & in the future, and work back from there.

Personally, I think those power stations are over priced & under powered. Power systems don’t need to be expensive to be efficient & sustainable.

Cheers!

"Always avoid expensive solutions to cheap problems." ~ OffGrid

1 Like

I was gifted a 1500wh power station, 400w of solar (200w mounted 200w portable) + a link to charge from the leisure battery while under way. The biggest constant load is a 9.6 amp fridge. The remainder are temporary loads i.e.: small 12v TV Cell phone booster, water pump, Etc. The "building phase will be the first few months of use.

Greetings!

The fridge might be iffy, but the rest should be okay…

Cheers!

“iffy” how so? I’m new at this.

Greetings!