Newbie at 70 yrs old

Just starting this journey in a 2016 Ford Transit 250 that was built for basic camping. I’ll be traveling with a small dog and am looking forward to seeing more of the USA.

5 Likes

Welcome to the community @TitoTravels. We’re excited to support you in any way that we can :slight_smile:

Greetings!

Life is expensive, always chase the money, it’s frequently the most useful tool in the box.

MONEY FIRST, enjoyment later…

Cheers!

"Life can be as wonderful or as miserable
as you choose to make it." ~ The Camper Van Man

Welcome!
#vanlifesummit

I’m also a newbie at 70 yrs old! Ford Transit is on order and I’m working on the design now - scale model out of foam core in order to work out the layout and my needs. I hope to be starting the build this Spring and have it ready for its test run for some fall colors. I’m not sure if I’ll be full time or simply take off when the desire hits. It’s all very exciting

1 Like

I’m 72 and getting into van life with a 2007 Chevy express passenger van 6.0 L, 3500 suspension in northeast USA. First thing I installed was a utility tub, hot water heater/faucet spray. I’m 5-9 so I can sit in the tub, like a small soaking tub. Small amount of soap, quick hot water rinse with one or 2 quarts of water, that’s it I’m clean enough for pajamas. Use paper bath towels to dry myself and then wipe dry the tub to rid excess moisture in the van, no shower curtain to dry. That’s just the beginning of the install equipment. Any other questions? Just ask. I also travel with a dog a 60 pound lab.

Greetings!

Sounds like you’re doing good. My shower base is also a storage tote, so I can take a shower or a bath. My shower curtain is my toilet/shower/tub privacy partition.

Cheers!

"Opportunities are everywhere, but only action makes it happen." ~ Van_Dweller