New VanLifer #VanLifeSummit

Hey everyone. I’m Madigan.
I’m new to the van life, though I’ve been living in a tiny house that I built for the last 5 or so years, so I have some experience with living in small spaces. I’m living in Minnesota and just getting started on planning my build – trying to winterize it as much as possible. Very grateful for the Van Life Summit, which is already helping me in the planning process. I do already have a van – a very old Ford Econoline (that was previously converted with a pop-up).

2 Likes

Hey Madigan!

Welcome to the van life community! That’s quite the transition from a tiny house to a van, but with your experience in maximizing small spaces, you’re already steps ahead. Minnesota winters are no joke, so winterizing your van is a smart move. It sounds like you’ve got a classic with that Ford Econoline – there’s a lot of charm in those older vans.

The Van Life Summit is a treasure trove of information, especially for those in the planning phase. Don’t hesitate to ask any questions or seek advice; we’re all here to help each other out.

Excited to hear more about your build and journey. Stay warm and best of luck with the conversion!

Greetings & Welcome!

I’ve spent many winters in the frozen North, down to -60°F.

I have come to the conclusion that proper climate control is much more important than insulation.

We are in a unique situation where we need constant ventilation even during the winter to prevent moisture build up & mold etc. Proper ventilation totally defeats insulation, so what we really need is enough heating and cooling power to compensate for that ventilation.