New member, new way of getting there

Hello all,

New to the forum and thanks to the admins for all the work.
Getting older and transforming from distance motorcycling and fifth wheel camping to a van we will build out ourselves to nip into small spaces with just the right amount of “STUFF” and also visit the grandkids without being 53 feet long overall.
Electrician by trade in a busy place and finding time for the build will be the biggest challenge. We aren’t in a huge rush and I could never pay someone to do work I can do myself so it will take as long as needed to get it done.
In the research and design mode now. New van, old van? 2 wheel drive or 4 wheel? Big solar install or generator? Medium roof or high. All this an much more to figure out.
Thanks again and looking forward to being a member.
Jeff

Welcome to the forum. A lot of those choices you spelled out will depend on you and your needs. New or used comes down to budget and your tolerance of risk, but 9 times out of 10 there won’t be many issues until the warranty runs out anyway. My opinion is to let someone else pay for the depreciation, and put that money you saved into a van maintenance/breakdown fund.

There are very nice minimalist van conversions, and very nice conversions with almost all the comforts of brick & mortar living. Most tend to be somewhere in-between, but keeping it simple and minimalist is where most long-term van people end up. There’s a lot one can do without a lot of electricity if we look to the past (humans have lived without electricity far longer than with).