New here, but not to van life

Hey everyone!

I’m on my third van after the break of raising my family over the last 20 years. I am now living full-time in my 2010 VW T5.1 (factory fitted high roof) after the breakdown of the relationship with my ex over the last few years. I bought it in 2020, before the first lockdown while van prices were still fairly low, and I have since spent the last three years converting it from an empty van…and it’s still not finished! :laughing:

Van life has for as long as I can remember, been something I love and I feel very fortunate that I do what I love, and I love what I do. I especially love the feeling I get when I can see that I’ve had the opportunity to pass some of the skills I learned on to someone who is also willing to learn.

I have plenty of boat refit experience alongside my van conversion experience and I am looking for an outlet to be able to give something back to the world…and I think I have found my place, so ask away!

All the best!

2 Likes

Similar circumstances. Sailboats, jet skis, camper trailers and now a van. 2007 Chevy Express Passenger extended 3500 6.0L. The van has served well to pull my 30’ camper trailer for the last 10 years. Now this van trend got me thinking that I need much less destination planning to just take the van and go.
For me to do this in a van I need to be able to take shower, inside the van so I just purchased a 40x20inch utility sink. Have had one in my house basement for years so I tried it out. Wife of course thought I was going crazy but that is another story.
The intended use is as a sink and counter. Remove the counter and I can take a bath/shower in it.
Now for the hot water marine angle to this. The passenger van already has antifreeze/glycol flowing to the rear blower assembly so I plan to tap into that heat source and install a 2.4gal water tank, calorifier by SureCal.
any thoughts?