Multiple small batteries vs single large battery

Hello! I’ve been searching around the forum and the internet in general and can’t seem to find a solid answer for my question. Me and my girlfriend are working on building out an old conversion van and we’re currently trying to chose our best option for batteries. We’d obviously love to get lithium batteries (weight, safety, 100% DOD if needed, etc.) but we’re also trying to save some money where we can (we’re both college students). In my search, I found these batteries

Miady 12V 16Ah Deep Cycle LiFePO4 Battery on Amazon (sorry can’t post links yet!)

They’re quite small but they are lithium and I was thinking about getting 5 or 6 of them and wiring in parallel to get a larger capacity out of them. If this worked, I’d have nearly 100ah of usable battery capacity for around the same price as a VMAX 125ah AGM which weighs much more and only has a 50% DOD.

Is this a feasible plan? Are there downsides? I’m not an electrician/ my electricity knowledge is pretty small so I’m not sure if there’s a loss in efficiency with so many connections or anything like that.

Any input would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

With LiFePO4 (LFP) batteries, for long life every cell in every battery needs to be individually charged/managed with a battery management system (BMS). Some of the larger batteries have a BMS built-in, but most do not and require a BMS type charger. LFP batteries have different needs than lead-acid in terms of charging voltages etc. A standard charger might work, but probably won’t contribute to the longevity that LFP batteries are capable of. It might be a challenge to properly charge LFP batteries using alternator power or a solar system. It may be that LFP batteries are best suited for an environment where they are fully charged, depleted, and then fully charged again; not an environment where they may get sporadic charging here and there.