Low hassle, weekend warrior power solution

BLUF -
What are the pros/cons of going with a laptop power bank like an:
Omni 20+ 20000mah AC/DC/USB-C/Wireless Power Bank over a portable power station like a Jackery 240?

Unless I’m missing something, they can both be charged via AC and DC, and both output 200Ah-hours.

But, I’m very new to all of the electrical terms, so maybe there’s something I’m missing?

Some more back story:

We are about to purchase a older conversion van and begin to slowly convert it into a camper van. Starting out, it’s going to be more of a weekend warrior vehicle, so we’re not looking to do any electrical work and we won’t be off-grid for too long.
What I’m looking for is something we can:

1. Run the van fan on all night
  2. Charge up to 6 devices (cell phones, work phones, kid’s iPad and the like)
  3. Charge a couple of (older, inefficient) laptops for the day

I was thinking of something we could charge before we left, but then plug into the van’s cigarette lighter while we’re driving so we could do a 4-5 day trip, with some driving in-between locations and not worry about staying at a location where we need an electric hook-up.

Any advice on the above dilemma about those two power source options, or general advice on solutions I may be missing would be useful. Thanks!

1 Like

Greetings & Welcome!

The problem I’m seeing with this is that you’re confusing watt hours (wh) with amp hours (ah).

Watt hours divided by volts = amp hours. So 200wh/12v=16.66ah. 240wh/12v=20ah.

Next we need to consider that possibly only half of those amp hours are actually usable without damaging the battery, so in the end we’re talking about 8-10 amp hours actual capacity. I don’t think that’s enough for your needs.