Just wanting to start out

Hi my name is Zach, I currently live in Chicago. I’m seriously considering move full time into a van in the next few months once I start my PhD at a university in Houston. I have a dog and I am quite tall 6’3. This has been my dream for years, I spent a month living in a van last summer and love it even more. I am pretty handy spent some time framing and dry-walling basements in my younger years.

Things I need help with
Choosing the right vehicle, I want something small like a ford transit connect. But am worried about my height.
Life on the road-Worried about living in a city like Houston (or any) and the feasibility. Having my dog there, we walk a lot, but I am still concerned with leaving her in the van (do I just run the AC or a fan, can the battery handle that, Houston is hot)
The Build-I have a degree in Electrical engineering, but am still inept when it comes to electric work, can this be done by myself. Just using videos and reading materials
I am somewhat strapped for cash, but I know I am going to live in squalor, so this seems more enjoyable and cheaper in the long run.

Greetings & Welcome!

I think you can do it. A few suggestions:

Get a van with a low enough top to fit in parking garages. With ventilation, if you park in a parking garage the temps should be okay for your pooch.

Window vans make far better campers, and with the opening windows you can save a fortune by not needing roof vents. Mini vans can be found pretty cheap.

Cheers!

"For every complicated problem there is usually
a cheap, easy, simple, & safe solution." ~ Road Warrior