Just another newbie:)

Hello, my name is Lindsay. I’m a 26y/o travel nurse looking to join the vanlife. I will be traveling solo (besides the company of my dog Rylee) and am hoping to get some advice on the best vans for full-time living with a pet and safety tips for female solo vanlifers. On that note, I am looking for a van that can take me all over on backroads and also has enough room to fit a snowboard, surfboard, mountain bike, road bike, and dirt bike (I know it’s a lot and may not be possible lol). So if you have some helpful tips shout out to me! It’s really nice to meet you all and I look forward to being apart of the community!

Welcome to the forum Lindsay. You might be able to fit most of that in or on a van, but wouldn’t leave much room for you to live in. You might think about a trailer to haul the two bikes and motorcycle, surfboard on top of the van or trailer. I carry a dual sport motorcycle or two bikes on a hitch rack on the back of my van on occasion, but it limits my access to the back doors. As far as safety on the road, it’s been discussed here several times - use the search feature to see what’s been said.

Greetings & Welcome!

If we’re talking bicycles, a front rack might work well, and the boards could go on the roof. For motorcycles, a trailer would probably be a wise choice.

What about Rylee? Their comfort & safety need to be taken into consideration. Climate control, both heating & cooling, and pet proof, are going to be needed.

Cheers!

"Old school, cheap, simple, reliable, and easily replaceable for the win!" ~ Traveler@Heart