I'm a newbie, you're a newbie - let's be friends

Hi! I’m Phoebe and I live in my '97 Renaukt Trafic named Sheila (she’s a good girl). To me, she is perfect, even the rust. I am currently stationary staying with family while I get some repairs done, she needs a new exhaust fitted and some holes need patching (hoping this isnt too expensive! any advice on welding/patching rust holes - thanks!). Hopefully back on the road after that.

I’m very glad to be here and I hope that by finding a community I can share my journey and engage with other van people - the people in my life ‘dont get it’ and I often end up feeling very alone and that leads me to doubt and fear which are not welcome!

Anyways, just wanted to say hi - Hi!

4 Likes

Welcome to the forum. I hope the repairs go well. There’s a good community here.

2 Likes

Thank you :slight_smile: All luck and good vibes are welcome haha

1 Like

Hi! Awesome to meet you! I’m new to this forum too and I’m with you- most people wouldn’t get it.

2 Likes

Hi fellow newbie :slight_smile: yeah I find that really difficult, especially the people within my family. Anyways, we have each other now!

2 Likes

Absolutely :blush: we can make our own families too!

1 Like

My family don’t get it either. I’m 57 and about to be jobless. I want to get on the road and see things before im too old. My friends are shocked it’s not a boat because they say im a pirate.

I haven’t bought my van or RV yet. Looking now. Good luck on the repairs!!

Laney

Greetings & Welcome!

Aye Matey! I took a year to do both legs of the Mississippi loop in a camper boat! An adventure to remember for sure.

Land legs or water wings, there’s more than we can ever see in a lifetime without even leaving the country, and it’s constantly changing. Places I haven’t been to in 20 years, I don’t even recognize now… :wink:

Cheers!

"Be the reason someone smiles today!" ~ Van_Dweller