How mutch power should i store?

Hi guys im new to the Van life experience .

So the main goal is living full time in the van and be completely indipendend on power
using solar. already this gives some questions to mind like actual battery storage.

i want to play video games on my ps4 pro and my tv for like 3 hours a night,
mabey power a household fridge
and all the other basic house van stuff

can anyone help me in the right derection?

kind regards Youri ;D

Hi trying to find put the same info as you so would be really interesting if any one has any info

It’s really not a simple question to answer as it involves knowing some specifics. If you can settle on the actual products you wish to use you can calculate their hourly power usage and multiply by how many hours you expect to use each item. Once you’re confident you’ve got everything it’s probably smart to add a little extra for unforseen power usage. There’s a few websites out there with calculators set up for this. I think Faroutride.com has a good one

I’m not an expert so take this with a grain of salt,

ps4 roughly 100watts
tv roughly 150 watts (could be 400 depending on size/type)

= 250 watts / 110v = 2.27 amps
(watts / volts = amps)

Then plug that in here (if the calculator works correctly): Calculate AC to DC Amperage Through Inverter | BatteryStuff

so ~ 23 amps an hour, so for 3 hours ~ 70 amps. This really doesn’t take into consideration a lot of factors such as how efficient your inverter is at converting power. From looking at this 110/120 dc seems to be about 10x the amps. 70 amps is more power than we typically pull in three days, but we don’t have a TV or playstation 4 hooked up in our van. Maybe look at a tablet. We honestly use our ipad pro for everything, tv, games, movies, work. Beyond our phones, it’s the only electric device we use that isn’t life sustaining.