Hey new to the forum/ First question!

Hey y’all! My name is Dan and im writing to you from the crescent city, New Orleans!
Ahh lets see, Im a dog dad, Use to ride freight across the country, love authentic ny pizza and bagels, artist/ musician, and trying to get my life back wiith a van so i can travel again! Worked super hard these past 4 years, time to cash in!

So before i start my build layout, i need to figure out the bed situation…
Its suppose to be a easy thing to figure out but my problem is a little unique… Let me explain.

Back in 2018, i bought a 2001 Toyota Sienna, I made a very small loft for it and bought a Queen sized memory foam bed.
With a large bread knife, i made it fit my sienna perfectly. It went from a Queen to a in-between a Twin and Full.
After getting off the road, i’ve been using the bed in my house for the past 2 years.

Now, I want to build in a Transit, (Med roof/ 140 wheelbase) and with my custom size bed, im going to be looking at a lot of extra space width and length wise which i feel might conflict with the garage space ill be making underneath it.

My question is, Should i invest in a full size bed that is smaller (in height) and lighter in weight? (Similiar to what ive been seeing on a lot of builds use on youtube), OR keep my heavy custom sized bed and lay it on a full sized bed platform and work with the awkward space that it will leave me?

I appreciate any feedback, thanks for you time!

Dan

I really have no clue what most people use for their beds. Us, we just have two 3-4 inch full size memory foam/foam toppers which we find to be extremely comfortable. Cost about $250 or so, so not really a huge investment. I’m not actually sure a “real” bed is anymore comfortable at all.

What do you plan on keeping underneath your bed anyways as far as a “garage” is concerned? Personally not a fan of putting bikes under there. They take up so much space and create a lot of wasted space in doing so.

1 Like

Greetings & Welcome!