Hello Vanlifers!

Newbie here! My daughter and I have just begun our adventure and are looking for the perfect vans/bus. She is almost 20 so we are trying to decide which is better- a full size bus to convert into a 2 bedroom? Or 2 vans? Can anyone help us decide? We are mainly focused on a balance of needing our own space and being economical. Any tips on for sale vans or buses would be very much appreciated! Thanx!:grin:

Welcome to the forum. An old school bus can be found for less than one van, and the overall fuel costs will probably be about the same (1 bus vs. 2 vans). You’ll also be able to share the driving, and a larger common space. The only disadvantages with the bus might be fitting into the smallest camping sites and parking spots, but two vans take just as much room. Of course with a bus you’d have to learn how to handle a larger vehicle, and know how to keep the air brakes adjusted properly (very important). Depending on where you register it, you might also have to change the title of a bus to an RV title.

School buses are generally pretty tough vehicles that can take abuse, and are safer in a collision. I was a school bus driver for a year between the military and college, and could take my 40 foot bus just about anywhere. In the summer I drove wild land fire crews around in a modified school bus on some very rough roads. With practice it isn’t a big deal. Even without seat belts, kids on school buses are about 20 times safer than if they got a ride from mom in the family car.

Very good info thx! I would love to be more stealthy but maybe that’s a luxury out of our budget for now. I was thinking a bus would be safer having us both in one dwelling. Any tips on honest sellers? I would be able to fly anywhere in US and drive it back. I worry about finding out I’ve been scammed on that drive back.