Good Day Folks From A Newbie

Introduce Yourself…

Hello everyone and thank you for the add. Long time camper, boater, hiker, hunter, and fisherman.

As a machinist I usually work with .0005/inch all day long. But I must say this van build thing is kicking my butt :smile: Nothing is even, square and trying to be precise is my biggest challenge lol I think I may need to loosen the tolerances.

So here I go…2015 Chevy 2500 Express low mile and perfect condition. Van is being build for road trip out west to hunt my two labs in Iowa, and South Dakota. Basically I need a bed and storage. Lots of storage. My idea is to somehow suspend the bed and have full capacity beneath.

Look forward to spending some time looking at all the great info here.

Thanks again,

Greetings & Welcome!

Re: Bed…

As in retract into the ceiling or a wall, or as in just clear space under a normal height bed?

Modular & portable rather than built in is a very popular choice that I totally agree with.

Cheers!

"Be the reason someone smiles today!" ~ Van_Dweller

Thank you for the reply.

I’d like a bed that runs east to west in the rear portion of the van that gives plenty of space for storage beneath and access from both the front and back. I’m considering the Skorva bed beams from Ikea but I’m not quite sure the best way to attach them to the internal frame work of my Chevy Express 2500

I’ve thought about framing long storage boxes on each side up tight to the wheel wells and then attaching the bed beams between the boxes with the brackets which would make the bed and beams removeable

Greetings!

How tall are you? Beds across the back usually aren’t long enough for most people & a pillow.

I prefer my bed to have legs rather than be attached to the walls. The legs on mine are a DIY version of the adjustable aluminum tent poles, made out of metal conduit. This allows me to easily make my bed level, even when my van isn’t.