Dreams, In the Making

Hello,
My wife & I (Duncan) are planing the layout of our first van. A HiAce pop top.
We plan to spend Extended time (3-5 months) at a time living Australian East Coast to start with.
Re: Electrics, my question is What Do you Experienced vanlifers suggest, 2 x 100 Amp Lead acid barteries or 2 x 120 Amp Lithium Batteries.
I’ll have a 2,000 Watt Inverter.
I’ll have 2 x 100 Watt roof Solar panels & a 160Watt remote pannel.
Planned drainage items are, LED internal lighting, Gas cooktop, 75Ltr fridge/freezer & a 1,200Watt blender.
We plan to free camp 4-5 days a week.
Any Advice/comments are Greatly appreciated,
Cheers

Hi Duncan

You’ll get a lot of differing opinions on this forum with regards to batteries and solar. But in my opinion (I’m no professional) your setup sounds good. Particularly if you’re wanting to be off the grid for several days at a time and in east coast Australia so you would hope plenty of sun.

There are a couple of key differences between lead acid and lithium for a van conversion.

Lead acid batteries require a little maintenance, this isn’t much but they have to be periodically topped up with water. Also if you’re storing them inside the van they should be in a compartment vented to the outside for safety reasons as when changing and discharging they give off hydrogen. That being said however they are a lot cheaper.

Lithium batteries are lighter (weight a key issue for some people), don’t require any maintenance or need to be vented and they can be discharged deeper without damaging the battery. However they are quite a bit more expensive and there are some issues with charging at very extreme temperatures.