Changing leisure batteries

Hi guys.

I am new to vanlife, we bought a ready converted van which was built last year then left for almost 12 months unused due to a change in circumstances, and thus, a few things needed attention, noticeably the plumbing and electrics.

The batteries are lead-acid, show full charge but drain quickly with high power items such as fridge/heater, then show full charge again once these items are turned off.

From this i assume the batteries have been permanently damaged from not achieving full charge over winter.
I have a victron smart solar charge controller, this can be turned off via the app, will turning this off and isolating the batteries be all I need to do when replacing the lesiure batteries, or do i also need to break the connection between the pannels andbthe charge controller?

Greetings!

You would disconnect the solar panel(s) first, then the charge controller. When reconnecting the charge controller comes first, and the solar panels last.

It should be noted that the draw you are experiencing seems quite normal, even with totally healthy batteries.

Cheers!

"Be the reason someone smiles today!" ~ Van_Dweller

1 Like

Hi again, thanks for the reply. So, the reason i was thinking batteries was because of the level of drop, once the sun goes down fully charged batteries will drop to in the 10’s with a little use of a water pump/TV/Fridge(not all at once) then stay in the low 11’s untilbthe sun rises again.

Yesterday I put 2 new batteries in, wired in parallel. All seemed good when the sun is up, sun down and the same issues just slightly better rebound.

The first picture shows what the battery was showing during the diesel heater trying to kick in (low voltage error kicked in before up to heat)
Second pic shows the voltage with a couple of LEDs on and the TV. Third pic with everything turned off again.