Best way to insulate these dang Ford Econoline walls?

Hi! I am relatively new to the vanlife community and I have some questions about insulation.

I recently bought a 2000 Ford Econoline and I’m ready to start insulating it. My question is: what is the most efficient way to insulate these inconvenient wall panels that the Econoline has provided me?? My plan was to use polyiso board for the wall/ceiling but I have run into a mental block while trying to figure out how to insulate the walls. As you can see (in the picture below) they are not flat walls like I have seen in most van builds. I was wanting to stay away stuffing fiberglass insulation in the empty pockets between the outer wall and the “inner wall” - I know they make things like sheep wool to replace fiberglass, but how well does that insulate and would I have to build a moisture barrier?

I have done a bit of homework on different brands/types of insulation but I don’t want to screw anything up too badly or cause moisture buildup if I can help it. Any insight would be MUCH appreciated.

Thank you!!

5 Likes

Hey!

We used a rigid insulation with a vapour barrier under the plywood subfloor.

For the walls and doors we used classic wool and spray foam for the cracks.

And for the ceiling we used Reflectix. Make sure to use this one correctly. You need an air gap in between the Reflectix and the metal roof/wall. Otherwise it’s useless.

Also we added an extra layer of Reflectix (again, with air gap) under our bed structure. It helped a LOT during the winter to avoid having the cold air come up from the ground.

Good luck! :slight_smile:

10 Likes

Here is what our insulation looked like. Sprayfoam holding polyiso boards.

5 Likes