Beginning the conversion

Hey there, I’m new to the forum as I am just beginning the process of converting a Ford Transit. Will be using it as a base of operations for climbing and skiing. My hope is to hit major climbing areas in the US and eventually get up to AK and far northwestern canada for some big mountain trips. I have been thinking about this for the better part of a decade and finally saved up the cash to do it. During the conversion process I plan to use it as a weekender / vacation machine and after that it’s full time for a while.

I’m looking for a place to discuss the very large number of decisions to be made throughout the build process. Some of which are van specific (I’m also on the ford transit usa forums) but others are more general and was hoping for a wider audience here.

Greetings!

For what it’s worth, I’ve been a nomad for nearly 60 years, and built or been involved in the building & sometimes restoring many rigs including vans, buses, motorhomes, trailers, & boats.

Comfort, convenience, and reliability are typically my major goals.

Cheers!

"Life can be as simple or as complicated as you make it.
Simple is cheaper and more reliable."
~ Off Grid

Good luck with your project. We also converted Ford Transit into a campervan and I went to Alaska and NWT i Canada twice, all the way to the Arctic Ocean. Our built is on YT, but I cannot link it here, I am “new user”. I am too on Transit USA forums.

Hello & Congrats on your investment. I’m currently building out my Transit for full-time living and can’t wait to begin this new chapter in life! I’ve found this forum to be fairly quiet. Hopefully in time more people will participate. Enjoy your process!