Are there any "must have" item?

Hey guys!
I am new to van living and is looking to convert my own van. I stayed in the past in RV but i know that it is not really the same as vanlife.
I wanted to hear your opinions, are there any speacial items you think are a must in a van (excluding the big ones which are bed area, insulation and etc.)? are there any items you thought could be really helpful but could not find on the market?
I would love to hear any thought and suggestions!:slight_smile:

Greetings & Welcome!

Boy, that’s a tough one, because I’d consider almost everything I have as essential.

Let’s start with bad choices… Cargo vans, added insulation, roof vents, 12v compressor fridges, propane, lithium or lifepro4 batteries, solar, house style air conditioning, built ins, and pretty much anything complicated or expensive. Gutting or stripping a vehicle to start from scratch is also an extremely bad choice. If you’re going to spend much time in places below freezing, plumbing isn’t a good idea either. The promoters & influencers promote all this crap because it makes them money. Make no mistake, they are friends with your money, not you.

For essentials, let’s start with windows, the more the better, and preferably ones that open. Safety comes in the form of a 360° view all around you. With opening windows, a ~$20.00 fan will be more effective than 2x $200+ roof vents.

I believe having your own bathroom is essential, my toilet & shower cost less than a couple months of gym membership, and is a million times more convenient than using someone else’s.