Anxious about starting this new life!

Hello everyone! I’ve just recently decided to go down this road, so I’m very new to all of this. I don’t even have a van yet. Don’t even know how to change a tire (I will learn before leaving). I’m a 34 year old woman and have become quite disillusioned with the reality of “normal” life. The whole settling down and having a family just doesn’t feel right for me and at this point, I don’t see it ever being who I am. I think even if I made good money, living in the same area, same job, same home, same thing every day will always make me miserable. Thinking about living a simple life, moving from one area to a next, picking up different jobs so I never get too burnt out on one, being more connected to the outdoors is a lifestyle that would actually make me happy. For the first time in a long time, I’m looking forward to something. It’s a little scary, but I have to change something and this feels right. We’ll see how it works out. Anyway, just wanted to say hey and I hope to hear more from everyone.

2 Likes

Hey Gee,

I’m a newb also. This is also the first and only forum I’ve ever joined. The folks are very helpful. Any questions, just start a topic and you will get lots of feedback.

Good luck.

1 Like

Hey @geeohgeeitsme

Welcome, forums aren’t usually my thing but this ones great, people are friendly and very helpful. There’s a wide range of people vanlifing in all different scenarios on here so whatever your queries someone’s likely to be able to give some advice. Just ask away :blush:

2 Likes

Greetings & Welcome!

Sounds like you’re working on a plan, and I applaud that. I might suggest that you hone your job hunting skills in advance too.

I think passenger vans are a much wiser choice than cargo vans. Perhaps a mini van will be in your price range and big enough. They can sometimes be found pretty cheap, and they certainly qualify for being easy to park almost anywhere.

Cheers!