Another Newbie Saying Hello

Introduce Yourself…

Hi, I’m Cat and I’m very new to all this.
Currently based just outside London and hoping to give up the office job, take a year or 2 out along with my husband and travel around Europe.in a van. We’re keen to explore the idea of converting our own van but are complete novices, so will be reading avidly to find out as much info as possible.
Hope to speak soon.

4 Likes

Sounds wonderful. I hope you have a blast!!

1 Like

Greetings & Welcome!

While I can’t speak for your area, here in the USA, buying a cheap older factory camper van or motorhome will save you a ton of time, money, and frustration both now and in the future.

People promoting DIY camper builds are doing it for their own benefit, not the benefit of their VICTIMS. Only the worst choices pay these promoters big money to promote their garbage. Better & proper choices have no need to pay scam artists to promote their goods, or a lifestyle than needs no promoting to begin with.

Nobody that’s right for any version of this lifestyle needs any extra persuasion from others. We already know our own desires and goals in life. While honest unpaid support and advice can certainly be helpful, the advice from the promoters can be worse than no advice at all.

I think the most important advice, regardless of the duration of our adventures, is to remember that we are camping. Camping that should be both enjoyable and budget friendly. I like the advice that no one should gamble more than they can afford to lose, and only proper planning can prevent premature failure. I also like the advice of money/income first and vandwelling later. I don’t like all the “do it now” & “just do it” advice, or the advice that you should abandon a good life, sell everything, and invest it all into a home on wheels.