Am I doing this right?

Introduce Yourself… Hi I’m new to this blog, but need to know if I have 3x 100watt solar pannels with a 40 amp charge controller is this ok for a 700 watt inverter for my off grid building?

You haven’t given enough information.

How much will you be using that 700 watt inverter? The three 100 watt panels will provide a MAXIMUM of 300 watts only if they’re pointed directly at the sun. Your 700 watt inverter is also not 100% efficient (none are). The battery and charge controller are also not 100% efficient. How big is your battery, and what type?

And it’s far better to use DC appliances instead of AC appliances through an inverter - DC appliances, lights, etc. are much more practical when everything is powered by solar/battery. There are several discussions here about how to design a system. Read through them.

Greetings & Welcome!

You didn’t mention batteries, and you’ll need those in your system before it’ll work.

Your solar & charge controller are basically a battery charger, and it’s your batteries that actually power everything, including your inverter (which you should avoid if at all possible.).

Your battery bank needs to be sized according to how much power you’ll be using each day, plus an extra buffer (I recommend at least a 50% buffer). 300 watts of solar is enough to charge a 100ah deep cycle battery about half the year, in the winter, it might not be enough. A 100ah battery will only give you 50ah of usable power, or 600 watts total. Needless to say, that’s not very much, and when you divide that by the normal 10 hour discharge rate, you’ve only got 60 usable watts.

Most minimalist off grid cabins have about 10 times more than you’re proposing, and more importantly, they all have generators. If money’s tight, start with a generator, it will be cheaper, and you can add solar later. You’ll need the generator anyway, and you can run it even without a battery bank.