Newbie here, what about loneliness in this lifestyle?

Hi there, I’ve heard that people that head out to live on the road often gets lonely. I believe that this could be a problem for everyone travelling alone, but I didn’t find anything about this in the forum. How is it so and do any of you guys have experience with this being a challenge while living the life on the road?

19 years old female, full of wanderlust :wink:

Welcome to the forums!

I too am a “newbie”, planning to begin my journey come June. (Provided all the quarantine stuff calms down, I guess.)

But this is something that I too have been considering as I prepare, and I’ve seen a few others around the forums also ask the same. Not just for companionship but also for safety and security would I personally enjoy some sort of “travel group”, especially since I will be a solo traveler as well.

I’ve seen one group, “HOWA” (Homes On Wheels Alliance) over in Arizona, but they seem to stick to a limited area so not really a “travel” group. They are also “unofficial” meetings in nature it seems, so I watch a lot of confusion about where to actually meet on their Meetup page. But they do have 4 groups, one of which is a female only group, so that is cool.

It would be neat to find a way of putting together a travel group, but the idea of randomly inviting internet strangers to some location out in the woods is vexing, to say the least. Then the liability of forming any kind of group should two party members have a “misunderstanding” of any kind… Really just brings me back to wanting to wander off on my own, haha. :laughing:

For the experienced forum members here, do you find it preferable to travel alone or with a group? How did you find your travel groups either now or in the past? What was the drama level in your experience with such groups?

Sorry OP, this is less of an answer to your question and more of me adding to it as a fellow newbie, haha. :smiley: