Hey y'all. Newbie here... I'm afraid I'm going in the wrong direction

Hi guys, my name is Leah and I just graduated high school . . . getting ready to go to college. For years I have been intrigued by tiny houses and every time I mentioned them my parents tried to pry me away from the idea.
Well, for the past year and a half I have wanted to convert a van and travel the United States. I have been undecided for college since day 1 and my parents refuse to agree (or even think) that a gap year would be good for me. When I am dedicated to something, I am dedicated, so I don’t think I would lose motivation to make money on the road.
I’ve always been a bit of a minimalist–refusing to buy things because I simply don’t need to follow trends or spend money, and definately the free spirit/odd one of my family.
I know it would be hard for my parents to let me follow my dream, for I would be a young female traveling alone, but I can’t help but think that after college I will have no money left because I’m in debt.

Any comments or reassurance is greatly appreciated. Also I love following van pages on Instagram, so feel free to follow me :slight_smile: Insta: leah.armstr0ng

Greetings & Welcome!

I’m no longer a big fan of college, but gap years are a REALLY bad idea unless they’re to work and earn money, NOT PLAY!

But you’re not ready to travel or be a vandweller either. What’s your work history? Without experience or marketable skills, getting jobs while traveling is almost impossible.

You should have been working full time all through high school, and if you’re going to go to college you should be working full time so you can graduate debt free.